The Great Disconnect

Who would have thought that the act of disconnecting is actually more social than being disconnected?

Not me, that’s for certain. In the beginning, I was convinced that being unplugged and uprooted on Social Recess would stop my social media interactions in their tracks. No social media? Dead zone. I’d have no interaction with the digital world for three weeks.

Right?

Wrong. The social media conversation hasn’t stopped – In fact, it has bridged different platforms and actually generated more talk.

When I first disconnected on Social Recess, it turned out that instead of stopping the conversation, I was spurring it by reaching out to my family, friends and important people in my personal (and digital) life. My main concern was to let them know where I’d be, what I’d be doing, and why I was doing it. Maybe this had to do with my “FOMO,” or Fear of Missing Out, but who really knows my internal motivation to inform everyone.

But now when I think about it, the act of disconnecting, in theory, only made me more connected – just in different ways.

To top that, it’s only been a week since I’ve been logged out. Now, when I try to explain Social Recess and why I’ve disconnected, everyone already knows about it.

The outcome? It looks like disconnecting can really be The Great Connector.

*This post is an excerpt from Kait’s personal experience, and posted to the website by a Social Recess representative.